I Love Karaoke

During June of this year I started singing at a karaoke place.  I often go to karaoke with my daughter.   It is fun.   In the past I didn’t like singing because I couldn’t sing  well.    Now I can sing better.  Why?   I think it’s because I occasionally talked to my children in a loud voice,  moreover workout at the sport club that also improves my voice too.   Singing is the best way to release stress.  It  makes me feel good.   It also beautifies your abdominal and facial muscles due to deep breath and oral movements .   I recommend karaoke  especially to the elderly.   There are many senior karaoke fans in Japan.     I wonder if it’s the same system in other countries.   Karaoke became popular in Japan in the 80’s,  and not only young but older people enjoy singing now.

Karaoke stations  have many small rooms.

They charge  280 yen per person per hour,  but they offer various discounts.   You can order food and drinks.

My musical tastes are different  from my daughter.   She likes vocaloid such as Hatsune Miku.   Vocaloid is a singing synthesizer application developed by the Yamaha Corporation that enables users to synthesize singing by typing in commands.   Many songs  have very fast tempo like tongue twisters,  very high tones, and  difficult rhythms.

She sings  Hatsune Miku songs.

The anime song  “Gintama”

 I assume I may be too old to sing rock music, but I like it.   I sing  not only the recent hit, but the 70’s ones too.   Today I sang “Day after Day” by Bad Finger.   I  knew this song from the radio when I was a little girl.   That record was the first one I bought in my life.   It was also  my first exposure to western music.   I  used to listen to rock music during my teens.   I listened to strange music such as King Crimson, Emerson Lake and Parker too.    I wonder how many Japanese  know of them.   I think I was a strange girl.   Today I sang King Crimson’s song.   “I talk to the wind~  The wind does not hear~ The wind cannot hear~”  Of course not!

I sometimes sing lady Gaga songs.

Madonna and Avril Lavigne’s songs are difficult to sing (>_<)

I like to listen to Black Eyed Peas.

I like Queen too.

I watched James Brown’s concert that was held in Las Vegas.

Deep Purple   Oh,  this is a good old film!

Japanese group, “Sid”, is the only artist that both my daughter and I like

7 thoughts on “I Love Karaoke

  1. In Vancouver, Canada there are lots of karaoke places to go to. Most of the karaoke places are Chinese- or Korean-owned. But there are still many English and Japanese songs. I love karaoke! 😀

    僕のブログでコメントしてくれましてありがとうございました!英語はとてもお上手ですね。間違えはほとんどないので ネイティブのブログだと思ったが、 プロフィールを呼んでみたらHappy Yuanは日本人という事がわかりました。 Very cool~ n_nv

Leave a Reply

