“Animate” and “Itasha” in Tokyo

Tokyo Trip Report , part 1

The memorial service for my husband’s mother was finished.   I can finally enjoy the  trip!   My family refrained from traveling for 49 days!   On the way home,  my children and I  spent several days in Tokyo while my husband stayed in Nagano for a few more days.   The first place we headed for was “Ikebukuro” in Tokyo.   I hear that Ikebukuro is the Mecca of female anime fans.   For your information,  the Mecca of male anime fans is Akihabara.   Many anime shops line the place called “Otome Road.”   Otome means maiden.   Out of these shops, the most iconic place is  Animate’s main shop.  Animate  is the largest retailer of products related to anime, games, and manga in Japan.

*Note* Animate moved to another place in Nov. 2012.

My daughter didn’t come out of the shop for more than an hour.    She bought some stationery printed with her favorite anime characters.

There was a Toyota showroom next to Animate.  Luckily,  several Itashas were displayed temporarily.   An “Itasha”  is a car painted colorfully with anime characters.   The displayed cars were covered with Vocaloid characters that my daughter loves, such as Hatsune Miku.   What do you think of these cars?   I think they are cool, but I don’t want to own one.    They stand out too much.   I’ve seen Itashas running on a public road twice.

PRIUS

COROLLA FIELDER

TOYOTA86        Several men were taking pictures with enthusiasm.   This car must be hot!

PRIUS C     (AQUA in Japan)

We left Ikebukuro and headed for the next place which is very famous.    Take a guess!

To be continued.

6 thoughts on ““Animate” and “Itasha” in Tokyo

  1. I like the ToyotaA86~ But yeah….hahaha, I don’t think I could own it.

    I’ve been to Ikebukuro and that Toyota Showroom before. But I didn’t know that Ikebukuro was the mecca of female anime fans!

  2. Hello 🙂 I am a German living in Japan, but I blog only in German!
    On the weekend I also went to the Toyota Building in Ikebukuro and discovered the Hatsune Miku cars. Very cute, right?

  3. Pingback: Japanese Anime Fest “Kumafes” Itasha | Happy Yuan Fun Life

Leave a Reply

