Fall Foliage And Felix Baumgartner

I don’t take an English conversation lesson regularly, but I attend the English class once in a while which picks a topic in advance.   I can decide whether to go or not.  I attended the class of “Beautiful Fall  of North America” last week.

First of all, the teacher talked about New England, where the Puritans immigrated to.  It has 6 states.  Do you know where they are?  I didn’t know the exact location.

RI means Rhode Island.   Ontario,Quebec and New Brunswick in Canada have the border with New England.  We can get the information about fall foliage from yankeefoliage.com    Fall colors are fading already!  How about Middle America?    Central Il   It looks like peak now. How about West?   Southern CA         Looking around my house, trees remain green.  I live in the southern part of Japan.  Fall foliage of this area isn’t impressive.

After that, we had a small talk about Felix Baumgartner.  I didn’t know his big news.  Do you know RedBullStratos?   Redbullstratos.com
According to wiki,
“He set the world record for skydiving an estimated 39 kilometres (24 mi), reaching an estimated speed of 1,342 kilometres per hour (834 mph), or Mach 1.24, on 14 October 2012, and became the first person to break the sound barrier on his descent without vehicular power.”
Wow!  It’s hard to believe.  What a crazy man!  He is an Australian.  It was also new to me that Red Bull is an Australian energy drink.
4 thoughts on “Fall Foliage And Felix Baumgartner

  1. Though I live in the US, I have yet to experience the fall on the upper east coast. My sister has visited New York in the fall and it looked so pretty! Our fall is so mild where I live in California, we don’t get such pretty colors.

  2. Konnichiwa Yuan-san!

    Today you started following me. I will read your blog but don’t follow blogs (because it would take me too much time each day to read them…). I am Japanophile. Love the arts, crafts, gardens, interior design, ikebana, origami, and my sister crocheted two amigurumi keychains which I use all the time. 🙂

    Good for you that you go for English conversation classes. I wish I could go for Japanese conversation classes here (but cannot). I took Japanese lessons many years ago but found that if I did not practise, that I could not remember enough.

    Funny you picked Fall Foliage in New England as a post. I used to live in Quebec and Nova Scotia and my son lives in Maine (I am now in The Netherlands). Fall Foliage is indeed spectacular and when foliage is not so interesting, this is a shame because it makes fall a little boring.

    Do you not get lots of snow like in the northern parts of Japan?

    • Hello 🙂 It’s good to hear from you again! It snows little in this southern area, but it’s cold (>_<) Never mind about following. Your blog will help me improve my English reading skill. I'm glad you're interested in Japan. I write Japanese things, so please stop by whenever.

Leave a Reply

