My First Exposure To Gospel Music

I attended a gospel music workshop last Saturday.   It was my first experience to sing a gospel song.   The workshop invited Danny Eason from New York.  We enjoyed gospel music very much.  He is on the journey to do workshops in various places in Japan for 3 weeks.   At the end of the trip, he’s going to do a volunteer workshop in Fukushima, which was hit by tsunami and the nuclear accident.

Before starting the workshop, we practiced English pronunciation of lyrics.  Then, Danny Eason appeared with an interpreter .  There was a question-and-answer session at the beginning.  He advised us to use muscle of diaphragm while singing.  It is important to add resonance to the voice as if your body were an instrument.   hmm…  Saying is one thing, doing another.   He also gave a good idea to record your singing and check it.   That’s what I do.  I record my singing in “Utasuki” that is karaoke social networking service.  (I’ll write about this someday)

After that, we practiced singing.  We were divided into three parts,  soprano, tenor,  alto.  I sang alto.  He knew how to make people laugh and have fun.   He has a warm heart.  We had a really good time.  Then here is the final touch. (I created a SoundCloud account too. lol)

Two hours passed very rapidly.   After workshop, I bought a charity T-shirt to support workshop in Fukushima and got his autograph and had a picture taken with him.  He seemed to be hungry.  No wonder.  He worked very hard.  Thank you so much and come again.

The title of the  song is “Don’t give up.”  Really good song.   I found the video on YouTube.  Don’t you think Kohshi is a very good singer?

Leave a Reply

