Photojournalist Tsuneko Sasamoto is 98

Super Granny Series #1

Japanese people have one of the world’s longest life-spans, with an average age of 86 for women and 79 for men in recent years. So there seem to be many energetic seniors.   Tsuneko Sasamoto is one of them.   She, at 98 years old, is still an active photojournalist.   Her autobiography was published two years ago.   In a bookstore, many books written by older authors are lined up, such as the book by an author living in Hawaii who is 104(@_@)   Since I hope to live long,  I bought those books…. correction, I borrowed the books from a library.

The Japan Daily Press provides more details about Tsuneko Sasamoto  She became the first female photojournalist in Japan.   She began her professional career at age 27,  but she had to switch jobs in mid-career.   After a 20- year break,  she got back to photography at age 71 and she has continued her work until now.   Last year she flew to Paris on business.   Wow!

According to the book, I think her keys to longevity are having curiosity,  keeping her brain active, ( She keeps on studying English)  physical activity, (She performs calisthenics every morning.   She can bend forward and put hands on the floor)  living a regular life,  eating in moderation and drinking wine every evening.

This is the video promoting her book.   In 2011,  she didn’t look 97.  She has good taste in clothes and a dignified elegance.

7 thoughts on “Photojournalist Tsuneko Sasamoto is 98

  1. I understood very few words of what she said. But I watched the whole video because she is so spry! And beautiful, she has aged very well. I hope to be as pretty and full of life when I reach 97; if I do. It seems American’s die so young and fat. I am confident I will make it to my 90’s.

Leave a Reply

