Social Language Learning Part 2 – LingQ

I wrote about Lang-8 in the previous post.  I really like LingQ as much as I like Lang-8.   LingQ is a language learning site which deals with 11 Languages.  The site has abundant contents that are very useful for listening and reading.  It is no wonder because materials can be imported from any other page on the internet.  After setting the LingQ button on a bookmark bar, you can easily import any text of interest by pressing it.  It is very convenient that the meaning of your unknown word shows up by clicking the word.  You can also create your own word list.  Since the sound can be downloaded into mp3 player, you can listen to it anytime and anywhere.  It is also possible for you to create original material by recording voices and typing texts. I want to try to create a Japanese one in the future.   For example, “A conversation of married couple’s fight” would be nice because such a situation isn’t common on most teaching websites .  lol If you pay some, you can talk with a native speakers on Skype or have your writing corrected. While I don’t need my writing correction thanks to Lang-8, I have speaking lessons with Americans.  By chance, I found two female Americans on the LingQ news feed who live in the suburbs of Chicago where I lived.  It is a lot of fun to talk with them.   It is also interesting that their teaching methods are different.   I wrote things about LingQ, but I still have lots of unknown matters on the site. Here is the promotion video.

7 thoughts on “Social Language Learning Part 2 – LingQ

  1. Wow! I’ve never used LingQ before, but it looks like a lot of fun, and I was inspired by Steve Kaufmann’s videos (his Japanese is so impressive!) I’m going to start it for Korean and Spanish.

      • I also find it very difficult. I think I will focus on Spanish, but if I can find a way to make Korean easier I will work on it.

        • Spanish use the alphabet we are familiar with, but Korean use very unique Korean alphabet. So I suppose skimming isn’t easy. For Japanese, Chinese is a good language to learn. We can get a rough meaning at a glance becaue both use the same characters. When you find a good way to learn Korean, please give me an advice 🙂

  2. This is right up my alley! I did a lightning fast crash course in German. It wasn’t a program it was just flash cards and mp3 lessons. I think this will come in handy to help me learn a little Japanese before my trip there. And help me learn some Korean for my dramas that I watch.

    • I think LingQ might be a little difficult for beginners, but I recommend it to the people who learned basic grammar. It’s important to listen and read a lot (^^)

Leave a Reply

