Social Language Learning Part 3 – Multilingual

As you read  on the previous post, the founder of LingQ is Steve Kaufmann.  He is a Canadian who speaks more than 10 languages.  LingQ reflects his learning method that is focused on reading and listening.  He shares his experiences and tips for learning languages on his YouTube channel.  I recommend language learners watch his videos.  They must be beneficial because he, a multilingual himself, proves the effectiveness of the method.
Here is one of his videos.  (I uploaded his Japanese video in my Japanese blog.  He speaks Japanese fluently)

9 thoughts on “Social Language Learning Part 3 – Multilingual

  1. I couldn’t agree more! Class instruction is usually counter-productive. The “structures” of a language (if such things even exist) are not important–patterns are. Feeling good about achievement in language makes me feel more confident in my ability to achieve in other areas of my life.

    • I think basic grammar and translation are effective for beginners, but I agree with him too. I’m not a student, so I can study in any way I like. Learning Languages is fun!

      • Absolutely! Grammar is something I look at when I’m curious or can’t figure out some distinction. A very broad grammatical overview is useful (like SOV, agglutinating, etc) but most grammar guides organize very poorly in terms of frequency of occurrence.

        • I was taught so many English grammar, even trivial rules in school, and it gave me a pain. As I use English after school, I’ve come to have a question about it. Should we have spent time for reading rather than grammar? I sometimes see a native’s writing which is different with what I was taught. The words have lives of their own, or Japanse teachers may not know English grammar. lol

          • At worst, the teachers and textbook writers themselves don’t know English well. At best, they are misguided by an outmoded system of education. I know many Japanese people who can recognize an impressive number of words, some very difficult, but cannot make even simple sentences or pronounce common words. I think this is because of a lack of exposure to real spoken English combined with a system that teaches to a test, compounded by the natural shyness and sense of inadequacy of many Japanese. If they spent time interacting with native speakers and listening closely to materials like audiobooks with texts they would learn to speak English well AND ace the tests!

Leave a Reply

