Regional Differences in American English

When I was checking Pinterest photos, I came across an interesting one.

“What is your generic term for a sweetened carbonated beverage?”

american english

“The midwest(blue) calls it “pop,”  the Northeast and West Coast(red) call it “soda,” while the South(green) is really into brand loyalty.”

There is another map which is more interesting to me.

“What is your “general” term for the rubber-soled shoes worn in gym class, for athletic activities, etc?”

sneakers and tennis shoes

“The Northeast and south Florida(blue) puts on sneakers, everyone else finds a pair of tennis shoes.”

Is it true?   In Japan, people call them sneakers.   I wear tennis shoes only for playing tennis.   Please click to see more results.   22 Maps That Show How Americans Speak English Totally Differently From Each  Other

I had many comments on Lang-8.  Those are very interesting too.   Comments on Lang-8

8 thoughts on “Regional Differences in American English

    • Oh, my goodness! That’s quite a coincidence! It seems we are compatible. I feel sorry not to leave a comment in your blog because of my lack of English ability. I’m trying to improve my English so as to read your blog! Yeah, when my husband went to California on a trip, he was impressed with the ethnic diversity. It’s an interesting place.

Leave a Reply

