What Do You Think Are The Right Words?

 

A few days ago, I received a message from one of my Utasuki friends.   “Utasuki” is a social networking service for karaoke.   As for karaoke in Japan, please refer to my previous post.    The message was a request to upload my singing video.   In Japan, the video camera is equiped in each karaoke room.  The Utasuki members can easily videotape their singing scene and upload it for personal or public use in the website.  I’ve never uploaded my videos in public.   As I said before, I’m now practicing Micki Minaj’s song ”Starships.”     My singing is improving little by little.  So, maybe I’ll upload it in the near future as the request.

By the way, when I read the lyrics,  I thought the words didn’t  follow Nicki’s voice.    So, I checked the lyrics.  Then, I found there are many different words in the part!

Jump in my hoopty hoopty hoop, I own that
And I ain’t paying my rent this month, I owe that
But fuck who you want, and fuck who you like
xxxxxx, there’s no end in sight
Twinkle, twinkle little star…

What do you think are the right words in xxxxx?

There’s no light
Dance our life,
That’s our life
Dance all life
Dance all ya life
Dance how a life
Dance your whole life

In addition,  I can hear “sh”sound ” without “t.” in the part “it’s your.”
Get on the floor, floor
Like it’s your last chance
Would anyone explain for that?

4 thoughts on “What Do You Think Are The Right Words?

  1. ‘That’s our life’ is correct. It is common for some song lyrics to be misheard… here is a link you may find interesting https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=50Mi-ks04AE the subtitles are what people have misheard for the actual lyrics. Being a native English speak I know that sometimes the way people sing their enunciation may come across a little off. Which is why you hear itshyour instead of it’s your… the words are kinda mashed together so they are not pronounced clearly as 2 words. I hope this helps.

    • Thank you very much for sharing the funny video, and your explanation of “itshyour” is very helpful. I’ve heard each different lyrics as the right words from several native speakers so far. lol

  2. Slang and dialect can make different words hard to hear, even to natives!
    Rap is one of the worst for slurring/blending words.
    Want one that’s hard to hear?
    Try Chingy, “right thurr” (right there)

Leave a Reply

