Hanauma Bay

On the last day of our stay in Honolulu, we decided to go to Hanauma Bay.    The #22 bus is very popular route for Hanauma bay and Sea Park.    It was so crowded that we couldn’t get a seat.

thebus22

It took about 30 minutes to get there.   Wow, look at the beautiful coral sea!

1hanumabay

People are required to watch a short video before entering.

2hanaumabay

3hanumabay

A pretty bird came closer to us.

Maybe this tree is a mangrove.

4hanaumabay

I enjoyed snorkeling for the first time.  It was really fun.    I bought a snorkel at a supermarket the day before.   Beach sandals are useless.  Fins or swim shoes are better.  You can rent snorkeling gear with ID and deposit.

5hanaumabay

It was very exciting to see pretty fish like these.

6hanaumabay

7hanaumabay

My son taking a shower.

8hanaumabay

I expected that the bus might be crowded on the way back, so we left early.

Hawaii Report #9

2 thoughts on “Hanauma Bay

  1. What was the video about?
    Were you able to see many colorful fish? I plan on snorkeling when I got to Hawaii, I will probably get a disposable underwater camera so I can take pictures of any cute fish.

  2. Hi,Susie. There is no special meaning in the video, just wanted to convey the atmosphere of Hanauma Bay. You can see the people snorkeling in it. One of my friend says that Hanauma bay is the best snorkeling spot for beginners because it’s possible to see many colorful fish in reefy shallows even if you can’t swim well. I didn’t know that kind of disposable camera. It’s great!

Leave a Reply

