Kona In The Big Island

After spending busy days in Waikiki, we headed for Kona in the Big Island.  On this day, my husband came from Japan and joined us.

Interisland Terminal

interisland

When I got to the island, I was surprised.   There was no building at the airport.  The gate has only a roof.   I thought it must have little rain in this area.

konaairport

The taxi ran on one long road.   The scenery was very impressive for me because there was nothing there, no building, no traffic light,  even no grass.

2kona

I saw such a strange landscape for the first time.   The other day, I heard the news that astronauts are living on isolated Mauna Loa volcano in the big island to simulate life on Mars.   Yes, it makes me imagine Mars!

3kona

1sunset

This video was taken from a resort area toward the airport on our return trip.     The scenery suddenly change from green grass land to black gravel.

 

Hawaii Report #10

4 thoughts on “Kona In The Big Island

  1. I find it amazing how one island can vary so much from the next. Were you able to see any volcanic activity? My co-worker’s daughter just went to the Big Island and was able to photograph magma.

  2. The Big island looks very interesting to me, but unfortunately we didn’t have enough time and money to look around. I want to go to the volcano Mauna Kea to see a star-filled night sky someday(^^)

Leave a Reply

